My Internship With University Communitions This Past Spring

Wow, I cannot believe that last semester I had an internship of a lifetime. I hope I can get the chance to continue working with University Communications, but if not I still wanted to share my experience.

This past spring semester was actually a hard one for me. I struggled a lot with my self, personal issues, school, etc. Yet, I got this amazing opportunity to work as a photography intern with Central Michigan’s Communications Department under the instruction, guidance, and mentorship of Steve Jessmore. You literally could not ask for a better experience than this as a photojournalism student at CMU.

With this position, I got to grow little by little as a photojournalist, ignite my passion more, and learn a lot about myself and my potential. I will be honest and say I don’t believe I gave 110% of myself when holding this position due to my struggles during the semester, but I did grow a lot.

I got to photography things I would have never dreamed of getting the chance to photograph. DNCE (in another blog post), Laverne Cox, CMU’s President Ross, a Pan-African Fashion Show, and more, these are just a taste of what it is like to hold this internship.

I learned how to expand my eye when shooting, leave the front and head to the back of a room to get a wide shot of the crowd or a full photo of the scene. Go behind the speakers or below, looking up, to get different angles. I learned to not just shoot and shoot and shoot. I am not paparazzi. Photojournalists wait for moments, they wait for drama, action, excitement, etc. We show emotion through our work and want to bring the viewers into the scene, making it feel like they were actually there, while accurately depicting what occurred.

I will admit, I was not the best one of the group at first, or even at the end, but I grew. I learned from my mistakes and listened to my critiques. I was told that I need to just be constantly taking photos, every day, of anything because there is always something occurring. This was the one tip I never fully applied though, because with my Resident Assistant position, classes, sorority, personal issues, etc, I thought I wouldn’t be able to. This was just me holding myself back. I have a little bit of free time every day, even if it is just for 10-20 minutes, it is experience, practice, and growth. I have to learn how to find stories with out an assignment now and I will be fully applying this advice this semester, I wish I just fully listened and realized this before. Don’t make my mistake and remember you are a photographer always.

I do really believe I got some of my best collegiate work during my internship with University Communications. I can only go up from here. Below are some of my favorite photos from some of my favorite shoots/events.

Enjoy! (plus, sorry this post was super late in comparison to when I had the internship, lol.)

-Check out my photos from DNCE in another post!!-

Laverne Cox – CMU Speaker Series 

Laverne Cox, from Orange is the New Black, speaks to the students at Central Michigan University about her life, transition, and working career.

Laverne Cox, from Orange is the New Black, speaks to the students at Central Michigan University about her life, transition, and working career.

Laverne Cox, from Orange is the New Black, speaks to the students at Central Michigan University about her life, transition, and working career.

Audience cheers as Laverne Cox walked on stage before her speech with the CMU Speakers Series.

Laverne Cox, from Orange is the New Black, speaks to the students at Central Michigan University about her life, transition, and working career.

 

Annual Meet President Ross, Hosted by the International Student Organization

International Student Organization hosted the annual Meet the President with President Ross in the Park Library Auditorium, on the campus of Central Michigan University.

International Student Organization hosted the annual Meet the President with President Ross in the Park Library Auditorium, on the campus of Central Michigan University


 

Lize-Sized Board Game Event for an RPL Class

CMU students play a life-sized version of Ker-Plunk during an event from an RPL class in the Finch Field House on the campus of Central Michigan University.

CMU students play a life-sized version of Hungry Hungry Hippo during an event from an RPL class in the Finch Field House on the campus of Central Michigan University.

CMU students play a life-sized version of Ker-Plunk during an event from an RPL class in the Finch Field House on the campus of Central Michigan University.

CMU students play a life-sized version of Jenga during an event from an RPL class in the Finch Field House on the campus of Central Michigan University.

CMU students play a life-sized version of Ker-Plunk during an event from an RPL class in the Finch Field House on the campus of Central Michigan University.

 

Annual Griffin Forum

Five state political leaders — including U.S. Sen. Gary Peters — shared their perspectives on how citizens can make a difference in today’s polarizing political climate at the Griffin Policy Forum. – Caption provided by Central Michigan University Communications

 

Leave a Reply

