Pit Photography Workshop at Warped Tour

This summer I went to Warped Tour and participated in a rock pit photography workshop with photographer Lisa Johnson. It was an experience of a life time.

I got to photograph rock bands, some I have never heard of before, but all of which I couldn’t imagine I would be able to. I got the opportunity to be in the pit for New Years Day, William Control, Stacked Like Pancakes, Andy Black and Dance Gavin Dance.

This a different experience than the time I photographed DNCE at Central Michigan University. I had to struggle with the changing light since the festival was in the day time. I had to deal with different types of security and getting into the pit. I also had to work with different lenses. I knew this experience would be a bit of a struggle because I do not own a wide angle lens and had to struggle with getting the shot. Through all of these minor struggles, I learned a lot from this workshop.

I learned about the safety lane that you have to leave for security so they can get to fans that are crowd surfing. I experienced having to work with a lot of photographers and not a lot of space to work around. Most importantly, I know this is what I want to do. I need more experience, I know I have a lot of work on and I can grow as a pit-photographer, but my passion for this has only grown.

Below are my personal favorite 12 photos from my time at Warped Tour. Enjoy!

Critics/Opinions/Feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Nikki Misery from the band New Years Day plays during their set at the Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

Ashley Costello (left) and Jeremy Valentyne (right) from New Years Day perform during their set at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

A crowd of fans cheers during the set of Dance Gavin Dance at the Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

Wil Francis (right) and Ben Tourkantonis (left) perform on the Skullcandy stage at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday. July 21, 2017.

Wil Francis (right) and Ben Tourkantonis (left) perform on the Skullcandy stage at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday. July 21, 2017.

Kellen McKay, lead singer of Stacked Like Pancakes, stands on the hands of the crowd during their performance at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

(From left to right) Alec Leventis, Kellen McKay, Andy Dawson, and Zach Foote perform on the Skullcandy stage at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

Andy Black performs at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

Andy Black performs at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

A fan crowd surfs during the performance of Andy Black at the Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

(From left to right)Kellen McKay, Alec Leventis, Andy Dawson, and Zach Foote perform on the Skullcandy stage at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

Andy Black performs at Van’s Warped Tour in Auburn Hills, Mich., Friday, July 21, 2017.

Leave a Reply

