Women of CMU 3. Maggie Lenard

Dorr sophomore, Maggie Lenard poses for a portrait in the Fabiano/Emmons/Woldt lobby on the campus of Central Michigan University, Thursday March 16, 2017. “(An empowered woman is) somebody who is not afraid to stand up for what they believe in, stand up for people who don’t feel like that can stand up for themselves. Being empowered is somebody who doesn’t really worry about what other people have to say, they stand strong in their convictions and they do what they know is right,” Maggie informs. 

 

Meet Maggie Lenard. Maggie is a sophomore at Central Michigan University from Dorr, Michigan who is making her impact as a political activist on campus.

Maggie is the President of the CMU chapter of Turning Point USA, which advocates for limited government and free speech, she is also a member of Civil Discourse Society and College Republicans. Maggie focuses her impact on helping others expand their political views, gain a unique standpoint on situations you would not have thought to look at, and broaden perspectives.

“A lot of people my age now or on college campuses are becoming more exposed to things, like the 2016 election. Not understanding why things are happening and how things work.I am really interested in politics, but I am also not a confrontational person, so I don’t enjoy arguing with other people, but I do enjoy learning from other people and offering my insight to help them…I think have made a real difference in bring people’s attention to things that are happening around the world, like issues we have here when it comes to women and feminism, or things around the world like with Syria. I think I have made a pretty positive impact on my friends making them become more politically informed,” states Maggie.

Maggie has also participated in a few marches on campus and politically related conferences. One of the activist movements on campus that Maggie took part in was tthe rally against the “Muslim Ban”.

Maggie informa, “my role there was not necessarily to protest the government but to show people, our peers, our friends, our Muslim-American fellow students that we stand with them. That they have a place here and belong here just as much as anyone else.”

Maggie does not inflict her views onto other, but focuses her efforts to educate her peers. She has dealt with backlash as a politically informed woman. People can tend to look at collegiate women as though they are little girls or not as knowledgable about certain topics, this can be a challenge for women to feel comfortable voicing their opinions and growing as leaders in our society.  She has had classmates sort of talk down to her after countering their position. Maggie amazingly shows growth from these situations and allows them to motivate her to show people that she is just as serious as her male peers.

Maggie fits with my defined pillars of feminism: dignity, self-responsbilty, empowerment, acting in kindness, and using one’s voice for good. She has a passion for politics and uses this passion to empower others, use her voice to educate and show dignity, plus integrity, when it comes to holding her beliefs, but not shaming others for theirs. Maggie carries herself in a manner that makes you know she is a strong, outspoken woman. I did not know Maggie before our little interview, I only knew of her, but I was able to witness from afar the impact she is having and going to continue to have on our campus community.

“I guess it kind of goes back to being a person that people can come to talk to about things maybe they don’t understand. Like I said, people out age kind of tend to be worried about looking stupid or looking like they don’t understand certain things. I feel like I have made myself available to my peers and people that know me. I am here to help you understand thing and if I don’t understand things I’ll let you know and we work through it together. I want people to feel like that they can come to me for anything, especially anything political…So, I guess my stamp (on this campus) would be being a woman who’s interested and passionate about politics and there for anyone who would like more informed,” Maggie explains.

Thank you Maggie for being one of the woman positively impacting this campus. Continue your work in the political realm and we cannot wait to see all the great things you have yet to accomplish while here at CMU.

Leave a Reply

