Internship Experience No.1

I recently received a photography internship with CMU’s University’s Communications. I got to photography three events within my first week and a half on the job and I have already learned so much. First off, I have gained more experience with working a scene and really photographing from all angles and perspectives. I have also got the chance to work more with action shots photographing a charity basketball game and a dance workshop. I am still working on timing when it comes to photographing sports, but I am already seeing improvement since my picture package 1 from the CMU Football game.

The best advice I can give when it comes to anything photography based is to trust yourself. You need to believe you will get amazing shots, even though it seems like you keep missing moments when it comes to sports action. I learned that standing at a higher level of the action I was able to see things and get the timing of when dancers would be doing a particular move or how the game was being played. This helped me figure out how to position myself to get action shots that really stood out and told some story.

I also got to work on photographing MOMENTS, which in my opinion is one of the most important things to capture when shooting any event. I think I am actually becoming extremely skilled in this when it comes to my photography and I love seeing my personal growth. I cannot wait to see where this internship takes me. Below are my favorite photographs from the three events I have worked on thus far.

Students cheer on friends and faculty during the MLK Charity Basketball game on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017 in the Student Activity Center.

Students cheer on friends and faculty during the MLK Charity Basketball game on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017 in the Student Activity Center.

Students cheer on friends and faculty during the MLK Charity Basketball game on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017 in the Student Activity Center.

Students cheer on friends and faculty during the MLK Charity Basketball game on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017 in the Student Activity Center.

Students and faculty participate in the MLK Charity Basketball event on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017.

Students and faculty participate in the MLK Charity Basketball event on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017.

Students and faculty participate in the MLK Charity Basketball event on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017.

Students and faculty participate in the MLK Charity Basketball event on Friday, Jan. 20, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a hugging warm up activity during a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a hugging warm up activity during a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

Students in the CMU dance program participate in a Masters Class Workshop with Third Coast Dance Company on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017.

 

Students living in Larzelere Hall

Students living in Larzelere Hall

Students living in Larzelere Hall

Students living in Larzelere Hall

Leave a Reply

