Painting With Light

I am not very good at painting with light. I did this once before in high school and it wasn’t my strong suit. I’m not very creative when it comes to painting with light or at least I don’t feel that I am. With this assignment, I really struggled on designing an idea/concept for what I wanted my photographs to look like. I know we are exclusively critical of our artwork and that we should be confident in the photographs we produced but, in all honesty, I do not feel like this is my best assignment.

My first mistake was not scheduling my time properly to get this done sooner. I will be honest and say that I did this the weekend before it was due. I had  multiple ideas for photographs yet I didn’t execute those. My advice to future photographers is to really do research on painting with light, this is the best thing you can do yourself for this type of photography.

Below are my following images:

The first one is of my miniature Leaning Tower of Pisa. I put a gel on the flashlight of my phone and hit the statue from two different sides to light it up this way. I have two different photos using to different types of gels and taken from two different angles. This is kind of like a still life. The concept was because I thought how cool it would be to do a painting with light with the actually tower, but Im currently not in Italy.

dsc_0530

A painting with light concept using a miniature Leaning Tower of Pisa in the Wightman studio on Monday, Nov. 7, 2016.

 

The second image set was supposed to be done outdoors on location. Sadly, when I went on location my strobe was BROKEN! Like literally  broken so today (Monday, Nov. 7th) when this assignment was due I go together with my model and did a variation of the concept in-studio. I was really excited about this photo concept on location and kind of just settled with the in-studio shots. It could have been better, plus the rain was originally supposed to be fire from steel wool. Instead I had the rain be flower that I strobed blue and I strobed my subject in pink. Both the images below had different turn outs based on how much strobing I did of each color.

dsc_0814-2

Sophomore Nicole Banasch poses for a painting with light concept about walking the rain in the Wightman studio on Monday, Nov. 7, 2016.

I tried! I tried REALLY hard. What I have learned is sadly, I VERY DISLIKE painting with light.

Leave a Reply

