Fashion 101

Fashion photography is something I admire and aspire  to be able to do. I love editorial and high fashion photography the most. I get my inspiration from America’s Next Top Model and Vogue. I LOVE FASHION!! I know I am just an amature at this genre of photography, but I think I did a good job on my own for the first time.

For my first set of photos I shot my friend Tyler Hether. I have photographed him nude before for an art class and he was my best model. I love his features and wanted to kind of do an androgynous look with him. When I studied male fashion shoot it was the androgynous males that grabbed my attention. I took my scraf and have Tyler once again strip nude for the shoot and told him to model the scraf like his life depended on it. This was my favorite shoot, I think I did really well and I had a fashion major in the room with me making sure the clothing was looking good. We both agreed his shoot could have possibly run in a magazine. Below is Tyler.

Senior, Tyler Hether poses for a fashion shoot on Friday, Oct. 14th, 2016. Tyler is studiyng Broadcasting and Cinematic Arts here at CMU and on the side works as "DJ Hasty".

Senior, Tyler Hether poses for a fashion shoot on Friday, Oct. 14th, 2016. Tyler is studiyng Broadcasting and Cinematic Arts here at CMU and on the side works as “DJ Hasty”.

lighting-diagram-1476579603

This is similar to the set up I had. The softbox light was at like a power of 3.

 

My next shoot was with my sorority sister, Courtney Jessica. I originally wanted to have paint being thrown on her in a field while I shot her, but I was unable to get an second set of hands. So then I did some research and I found out about this cartoon face make-up and was like OMG I HAVE TO DO THIS! It just look so editorial and something that they would have done in ANTM. So I had her put on a low cut blouse and painted her face. There was a lot of struggles with these photos though, my strobes were not going off together and were either not enough light or were over exposing the image. I tried everything I knew how to do to fix the situation but it didnt help. I wanted a back light on her and a front light, but I didn’t get that. So the photos I got are a tad dark or a bit flat but they are still grogeous to me and she kind of looks like she came out of a cartoon. Below is Courtney.

Junior, Courtney Jessica poses on a graffiti wall on a railroad overpass on Saturday, Oct. 15, 2016. Courtney is studying to be a teacher and dabbles in modeling.

Junior, Courtney Jessica poses on a graffiti wall on a railroad overpass on Saturday, Oct. 15, 2016. Courtney is studying to be a teacher and dabbles in modeling.

lighting-diagram-1476579678

I had so many issues with these lights and moved them around a lot but this was the original set up. Both strobes were at 1/16 and 1/2 power.

Fashion is hard but I was able to get my photographs in 1/2 hour to an hour of shooting, despite any issues, that was becasue I had a vision, a plan. When shooting any type of photography make sure you have a plan and that you can work with what you have. NEVER BE DISAPPOITNED OR DISCOURAGED BY YOUR WORK! This can discourage your subject, when you love it and are feeling it and are happy the model can work better. With my photoshoot with Tyler everytime I made a sound of excitment or liked what I was doing, he got happier and was more comfortable. Make note of that.

Leave a Reply

