Picture Package Assignment #1

 

3-pic-package

Copy Block:

On Saturday, September 17, 2016, Central Michigan Univeristy’s Chippewas went head to head again University of Nevada Las Vegas’ Rebels, at 44-21. This leaves the Chippewas 3-0 for the start of their fall season for the first time since 2002.

Quaterback, Cooper Rush scored the game winning goal for CMU. Rush is now honored as the Mid-American Conference West Division Offensive Player of the Week for this 20-52 passes with a record of six touchdowns from this game. This helped show the national attention on the football team that they can hold their own and stay focused enough to win.

There were around 19,922 fans in the stands Saturday watching this historic moment for the Chippewas.

What I learned:

I learned a lot about what it takes to shoot sports photography. When shooting for this assignment I had the opportunity to be apart of a football shooting workshop with Professor Fitzgerald and we got to go on the field during the game. This was an amazing experience. I learned that when you shoot sports photography you technically can not go past a certain line on the field or in the red box that the players “sit” in. With the large amount of people that are actually on the field during the football game this was harder then I thought. Shooting for this assignment taught me to fight for my right to shoot and to not be afraid to just get up in there for the shot.

The thing I struggled with the most was actually capturing the perfect action shot or any really good action shot. I has a hard time with timing. I think this picture package would be 100% better if I had an actual action shot as part of the story, but sadly I do not. I learned that you have to shoot consecutively when shooting sports because the action is fast paced and you can not assume anything because it is all spontaneous. I hope that the next time I shoot sports (cough cough, my sports feature story for JRN 422) I get that needed action shot.

I learned a lot when it came to designing. We did a bit of photo story designing in my class with Professor McDonald, but what I learned here was really applicable and something I know I can apply in the future. Especially with the layout planning that we did, this is a crucial part to designing a picture package and should be viewed as such.

I can not wait for the next package assignment to come.

Photos and Captions:

. Student’s cheer in the crowd to get pumped up at the start of the CMU vs. UNLV game at Kelly Shorts Stadium on the campus of Central Michgian University on Saturday, September 17, 2016.

Student’s cheer in the crowd to get pumped up at the start of the CMU vs. UNLV game at Kelly Shorts Stadium on the campus of Central Michgian University on Saturday, September 17, 2016.

Westland  runningback Devon Spalding raises his hand in a no. 1 after CMU scored a touchdown during the CMU vs. UNLV game at Kelly Shorts Staduim on Saturday,  September 17, 2016.

Westland
runningback Devon Spalding raises his hand in a no. 1 after CMU scored a touchdown during the CMU vs. UNLV game at Kelly Shorts Staduim on Saturday,
September 17, 2016.

Central Michigan Univerisity  cheerleaders run with CMU flags after a touchdown around the field of Kelly Shorts Stadium on Saturday, September 17th, 2016. This is a tradition during every football game to celebrste a  touchdown.

Central Michigan Univerisity
cheerleaders run with CMU flags after a touchdown around the field of Kelly Shorts Stadium on Saturday, September 17th, 2016. This is a tradition during every football game to celebrate a touchdown.

 

 

Leave a Reply

