Lighting on Location

This was a hard assignment for me, not in the terms of knowing how to use the lights but more of a scheduling issue. I had to work with people saying no and finding subjects, then work with their schedules and then mime. The worst challenge was that I got sick (soon learning it was strep) and could not shoot due to bed rest. This project was amazing in teaching me skills that come to planning, timing, and get the shot before it is too late, which is great because this assignment was about location lighting. LOL.

The first photos were actually the last pictures I took. I was going to originally do a sportriat, but sadly with my scheduling and being sick I was unable to work with an athlete’s schedule. So instead I decided to photograph one of my staff members. She is full of life and wanderlust, she is a character of her own. I wanted to photograph her in the morning and showcase her free spirit and lifestyle. I photographed here in the green house on campus, which it one of her favorite locations on CMU’s campus. Here is Katie Rae.

Big Rapids senior Katie Rae poses in the green house on the campus of Central Michigan University, Monday Oct. 3, 2016. "I don't think people in today's society appreciate nature enough. Plants, animals, and even the seasons have important lessons to teach us, but if we are too busy to go outside or look up from our phones we'll never be able to learn them," states Katie.

Big Rapids senior Katie Rae poses in the green house on the campus of Central Michigan University, Monday Oct. 3, 2016. “I don’t think people in today’s society appreciate nature enough. Plants, animals, and even the seasons have important lessons to teach us, but if we are too busy to go outside or look up from our phones we’ll never be able to learn them,” states Katie.

lighting-diagram-1475507057

This is similar to my set up, minus all the plants everywhere. Both strobes were at 1/16 power and at a wide angle.

The next set of photos I took were of two sisters of mine, Aubrie Clingaman and Nicole Banasch. They are both dance minors and apart of the dance company here at CMU. I wanted to photograph them with a bright blacklight, getting this halo effect and glow around them. We went downtown to the broadway theatre and took photos outside in the street. The BEST part of this shoot was that it was raining (now this didn’t help my health, because that’s how I got sick; TIP: be careful when shooting in the rain). There was this beautiful glow and amazing mood in the photos and it was exactly what I envisioned for this shoot.

Aubrie Clingaman (bottom) and Nicole Bannash (top) pose in the rain outside of Broadway Theater in downtown Mount Pleasant on Friday, Sep. 30, 2016. "Dance has always been a way for me to continued to be inspired and learn more about myself. I am thankful to have it as an escape to just breather with no pressure or stress involved," states Aubrie.

Aubrie Clingaman (bottom) and Nicole Bannash (top) pose in the rain outside of Broadway Theater in downtown Mount Pleasant on Friday, Sep. 30, 2016. “Dance has always been a way for me to continued to be inspired and learn more about myself. I am thankful to have it as an escape to just breather with no pressure or stress involved,” states Aubrie.

This is kind of the lighting set-up for this shoot. My dancers were next to each other with a strobe flash behind them and one off to the right as a wide angle and then my assistant held the gold side of a reflector off to the left.

This is kind of the lighting set-up for this shoot. My dancers were next to each other with a strobe flash behind them and one off to the right as a wide angle and then my assistant held the gold side of a reflector off to the left.

The best advice I can give is that it does not matter when you take the photo, but you need to know what you want the photo to look and feel like. This is what really matters. Fight for the shot you want and never try and work around what you are envisioning for the photo. This is assignment was hard and time consuming, but one of the best experiences.

Leave a Reply

