Photography Achieves Greatness

What does photography mean to me?

Storytelling.

All I have ever wanted to do was tell people’s stories, share what is happening in the world, and hopefully make a difference. Storytelling is what makes the world go round, what enhances our culture and our history, and what makes it so memories never fade. Photography gave me the chance to do this and allows me to be the influence that I want to be.

In earlier posts I talked about how other photographers used photography to share stories and how they viewed the effect photography has on our culture. Now it is my turn.

William Shakespeare once wrote, “Some are born great, some achieve great, and some have greatness thrust upon them.” Out of context this quote is very inspirational and it motivates me all the time. I feel photography is a way for us to achieve great in the world. It gives us a chance to make an impact and to really change the world. This is how I want to use the storytelling of photography, to achieve greatness in helping the world understand issues, cultures, etc.

In all honesty, I had to make this blog for my journalism classes here at Central Michigan University. I never really know what to write about or what on earth I can pick as a thread for a blog. Yet, for some reason some aspect of using photography or social media to make a change has always been what my class blogs have been based around.

Photography is my passion and I am learning more and more about the photojournalism field, broadcasting and digital media. This is my way of putting my stamp on the world.

I can not wait to share with you what I learn, how others view the storytelling of photography and mainly work with you in figuring out how this whole blog thing works.

Feel free to leave a comment with ideas, topics, twitter posts, photographers you like, etc, that you would like me to write about. Together we will make a change and achieve greatness through the the discussion of photography and the art itself.

Bye.

Leave a Reply

